Friday, October 26, 2012

Music review: Anjunabeats Worldwide Vol. 4

The first music review here on TheBrokenInfinite is going to be on the 4th compilation album under the Anjunabeats Worldwide compilation series which was released on April 23 of this year.

review by Jeremias de Leon
Album : Anjunabeats Worldwide Vol. 4 
Compiled by Maor Levi and Nitrous Oxide 
Record Label : Anjunabeats 

The album contains 31 tracks of special mixes chosen by Maor and Nitrous Oxide. The track list is as follows: 

Disc One
1. "Splitting" by   Breakfast pres. Keyworth
2. "Won’t Say No" by   Maor Levi
3. "Electrified" (Mat Zo Remix) by Tate & Diamond feat. Nicolai
4. "It’s Yours" by   Mat Zo
5. "No More Serious Faces" by   Inpetto
6. "Phoenix From The Flames" (Maor Levi Remix) by Boom Jinx feat. Justine Suissa
7. "Sevas" by   3rd Planet
8. "Pistol Whip" by   Norin & Rad
9. "Alba" (Maor Levi Remix) by Super8
10. "Namaste" by  Bluestone
11. "Aura" by  Genix
12. "Safari" (Maor Levi Remix) by Ost & Meyer
13. "This Love" by  Kyau & Albert
14. "Afterthought" (Heatbeat Remix) by Parker & Hanson
15. "Median" (Keyworth Remix) by Breakfast pres. Keyworth

Disc Two

1. "In And Out Of Phase" (Norin & Rad Remix) Andrew Bayer & Matt Lange feat. Kerry Leva  
2. "Helion" (Norin & Rad Remix) Mike Koglin vs Genix 
3. "Nautica" Nitrous Oxide & Dan Stone 
4. "Orion" Adam Kancerski 
5. "Human Turbines" (Beat Service Remix) Edu & Cramp  
6. "Antalya" Ost & Meyer 
7. "Manchester AM" (2012 Club Mix) Craig Connelly 
8. "Contrast" (Nitrous Oxide Remix) Sunny Lax 
9. "Gr8!" Nitrous Oxide 
10. "Scarlet Heaven" (Dan Stone Remix) Osy & Meyer  
11. "Energize" Nitrous Oxide & Space RockerZ 
12. "Azzura" Boom Jinx & Daniel Kandi  
13. "Awakenings" Super8 & Tab 
14. "Tiburon" Nitrous Oxide 
15. "Andromeda" Cramp 
16. "Progress" (Nitrous Oxide Remix) Oliver Smith

There's also the bonus track Rebound by Arty and Mat Zo

Alright, here we go. In the beginning of the mix with Splitting, Won't Say No, and Electrified we get an excellent array of tracks for an intro. They have very distinct soundscapes that let the listeners know that they're listening to music that is not like the everyday norm. Then we get to It's Yours and No More Serious Faces. It's Yours gives off a nice relaxing melody and No More Serious Faces goes a bit to rave and uplifting trance.  No More Serious Faces sounds like it's part of a soundtrack that would be played while at an amusement park. The mix has more tracks like these first five with various trippy soundscapes and quirky experimental sounds. Like Tiburon which has a more rock feel to it.

As for the different discs Maor Levi's compilation in disc one is a bit more adventurous, a bit more progressive, with tracks like No More Serious Faces, and Sevas that have more rock influences which actually make the melodies start off harder but then mellow out into beautiful pieces.

Disc two mixed by Nitrous Oxide has tracks that seem to be more focused on dancing, not that the tracks in disc one aren't but these seem more like big room fillers, especially summer parties. This whole album has tracks for the summer. The release date was perfect for this, and my summer was made a lot better by having this album around.

If strictly listening to the album you will get put on a roller-coaster of emotions and have a great day of listening, especially if you're in an otherwise quiet place. If listening and dancing this is perfect in a block party, on the beach or in a big room where there's not only lots of people but lots of room, this is the kind of music where you have to slide all over the place with joy.

I absolutely love this album. If you haven't gotten this album yet go grab it, I give this album a perfect score of 10 out of 10.

If you want to buy this album you can grab it on iTunes here for $12.99 USD
Or on the Anjunabeats store for 9.99 pounds.

If you want to know more about my thoughts on music or anything geeky follow my twitter @ikariradio 

Or listen to my podcast the Ikaricast on iTunes.

No comments:

Post a Comment